Page 1 of 1

Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:27 am
by Ender
They will go here!

When making the Predict Action, you will make the action ICly in your post, but you will list the Stance you are predicting in your Staredown thread in your PF. When we reveal the Bid, that is also when we will reveal the stances for the new round, if Predict works or doesn't work, and then move forward.

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:32 am
by Ender
As a reminder, the following house rules are in effect

Bokken - Capped at Deadliness 6, no matter what.

Iai Techniques can spend opportunities to inflict critical strikes, as normal attacks.

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:54 am
by Ikoma Aya
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:27 am
They will go here!

When making the Predict Action, you will make the action ICly in your post, but you will list the Stance you are predicting in your Staredown thread in your PF. When we reveal the Bid, that is also when we will reveal the stances for the new round, if Predict works or doesn't work, and then move forward.
On this: does this mean both players reveal their stances at the top of the round at the same time in ALL rounds?

That'd be a bit of a change from the RAW of choosing your stance when you take your turn, thus my question!

Or do you mean just revealing the stance you're rolling Init in (as that indeed does happen 'at the same time')?

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:57 am
by Ender
Ikoma Aya wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:54 am
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:27 am
They will go here!

When making the Predict Action, you will make the action ICly in your post, but you will list the Stance you are predicting in your Staredown thread in your PF. When we reveal the Bid, that is also when we will reveal the stances for the new round, if Predict works or doesn't work, and then move forward.
On this: does this mean both players reveal their stances at the top of the round at the same time in ALL rounds?

That'd be a bit of a change from the RAW of choosing your stance when you take your turn, thus my question!

Or do you mean just revealing the stance you're rolling Init in (as that indeed does happen 'at the same time')?
Ah, true.

Hmm.

Predict secretly. Then go as raw when you take your turn. If the Predict action works, I will interrupt

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:59 am
by Ikoma Aya
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:57 am
Ah, true.

Hmm.

Predict secretly. Then go as raw when you take your turn. If the Predict action works, I will interrupt
Okie!

Should we post the Stances for Init on our PFs before posting in the duel threads though? (And if there is something specifically on what we should add to our PFs, I seem to have missed it! Sorry :D )

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:59 am
by Kitsuki Jun
You will begin at Range 2 from each other.
Roll Initiative (TN 1 Meditation, plus your opening stance).
You begin with your bokken 'sheathed' at the top of each combat round.
Should this read "at the beginning of each new duel"? I would guess we're not meant to be un-readying the bokken between combat turns within a duel (or are we, dun dun dun)?

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 6:03 am
by Ender
Ikoma Aya wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:59 am
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:57 am
Ah, true.

Hmm.

Predict secretly. Then go as raw when you take your turn. If the Predict action works, I will interrupt
Okie!

Should we post the Stances for Init on our PFs before posting in the duel threads though? (And if there is something specifically on what we should add to our PFs, I seem to have missed it! Sorry :D )
Since you can't predict that first round, you would have to choose your stance in the initiative roll phase, so go ahead and put it in your initial post.

I've always taken it that first round - your first stance is your initiative stance.

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 6:04 am
by Ender
Kitsuki Jun wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:59 am
You will begin at Range 2 from each other.
Roll Initiative (TN 1 Meditation, plus your opening stance).
You begin with your bokken 'sheathed' at the top of each combat round.
Should this read "at the beginning of each new duel"? I would guess we're not meant to be un-readying the bokken between combat turns within a duel (or are we, dun dun dun)?
From my reading of the Duel rules, it looks like you start at range 2, maneuver towards each other (you don't take a maneuver action), draw, and strike (or predict, or whatever), and then move to the opposite ready position, sheathing the weapon.

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 6:07 am
by Ender
Do not reveal your initiative value after your initiative roll in the duel thread, since this is modified by the staredown bids.

Have it listed in your PF thread

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 6:16 am
by Ender
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 6:04 am
Kitsuki Jun wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:59 am
You will begin at Range 2 from each other.
Roll Initiative (TN 1 Meditation, plus your opening stance).
You begin with your bokken 'sheathed' at the top of each combat round.
Should this read "at the beginning of each new duel"? I would guess we're not meant to be un-readying the bokken between combat turns within a duel (or are we, dun dun dun)?
From my reading of the Duel rules, it looks like you start at range 2, maneuver towards each other (you don't take a maneuver action), draw, and strike (or predict, or whatever), and then move to the opposite ready position, sheathing the weapon.
Correction. Once the weapon is out, it's always out. Cause otherwise you can get soft locked into water.

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 7:16 am
by Ikoma Aya
Oh! One more question (that may have been asked elsewhere/ before?) -

Do we all assume we're wearing travelling clothes and using bokken? That means: Physical resistance 2, damage 3 (5 if 2 handed), deadliness 3 (and capped at 6, as per the House rule)?

Or... are we actually wearing different clothes/armour (which could influence the results a bit)? If so, should we declare what we're wearing in our first post?

Thanks!

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 7:37 am
by Ikoma Aya
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 6:03 am
I've always taken it that first round - your first stance is your initiative stance.
Oh, also on this - By the RAW if I'm reading it right (pgs 250/251):

Under Initiative Checks (pg. 250)
A character can use any ring for this check. After a character resolves their Initiative check, that character enters the stance matching the ring they used.
So while do not benefit from Stance Passive Benefits during the Init check itself, you may spend Opps based on your Stance, and you do get the benefits from the Stance right after the check (and so before your first turn).

Then under Phase 2, Take turns; Turn (pg. 251);
Step 2: Set Stance
Next, the character sets their stance. (...) Each turn, a character can remain in the stance they were already in or switch to a new stance.

As part of setting a stance, a character may set the grip with which they are wielding a weapon (see pg 230). (...) Readying a new weapon requires an action, however.

After setting a stance, a character remains in that stance until the beginning of their next turn
So since that applies to all turns, you START round 1 in the stance you rolled init in, but then during your First Turn (and each of your Turns after that), you can choose to another stance.

Does that make sense? Or is your reading/ the ruling we're using for this game different?

Asking b/c this may be quite important when choosing which Stance to roll init in! (Since you may end up open to attack during the whole of Round 1 if you can't choose stance during your turn :) )

Thanks again!

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 7:45 am
by Ender
Ikoma Aya wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 7:16 am
Oh! One more question (that may have been asked elsewhere/ before?) -

Do we all assume we're wearing travelling clothes and using bokken? That means: Physical resistance 2, damage 3 (5 if 2 handed), deadliness 3 (and capped at 6, as per the House rule)?

Or... are we actually wearing different clothes/armour (which could influence the results a bit)? If so, should we declare what we're wearing in our first post?

Thanks!
Yes. Bokken are what are being used. Standard travelling clothes

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 7:47 am
by Ender
Ikoma Aya wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 7:37 am
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 6:03 am
I've always taken it that first round - your first stance is your initiative stance.
Oh, also on this - By the RAW if I'm reading it right (pgs 250/251):

Under Initiative Checks (pg. 250)
A character can use any ring for this check. After a character resolves their Initiative check, that character enters the stance matching the ring they used.
So while do not benefit from Stance Passive Benefits during the Init check itself, you may spend Opps based on your Stance, and you do get the benefits from the Stance right after the check (and so before your first turn).

Then under Phase 2, Take turns; Turn (pg. 251);
Step 2: Set Stance
Next, the character sets their stance. (...) Each turn, a character can remain in the stance they were already in or switch to a new stance.

As part of setting a stance, a character may set the grip with which they are wielding a weapon (see pg 230). (...) Readying a new weapon requires an action, however.

After setting a stance, a character remains in that stance until the beginning of their next turn
So since that applies to all turns, you START round 1 in the stance you rolled init in, but then during your First Turn (and each of your Turns after that), you can choose to another stance.

Does that make sense? Or is your reading/ the ruling we're using for this game different?

Asking b/c this may be quite important when choosing which Stance to roll init in! (Since you may end up open to attack during the whole of Round 1 if you can't choose stance during your turn :) )

Thanks again!
I was under the impression that you roll init. In the stance you will be for turn 1, but you're right, the rules let you switch at the turn.

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 7:50 am
by Ikoma Aya
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 7:47 am
I was under the impression that you roll init. In the stance you will be for turn 1, but you're right, the rules let you switch at the turn.
OKie!

I had the same impression for a while! Probably a leftover from 4e thinking I guess!

And bokken and standard travelling clothes then. Roger!

Thanks! :)

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 2:10 pm
by Ikoma Aya
Oh, one more question I guess!

The same rules for passions for Strife recovery apply on D10, right? Will we even have time to recover strife between the duels (once per Passion I suppose? Or once per day in general?) if we 'do' want to indulge in our Passions?

Thanks!

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 2:51 pm
by Ender
Ikoma Aya wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 2:10 pm
Oh, one more question I guess!

The same rules for passions for Strife recovery apply on D10, right? Will we even have time to recover strife between the duels (once per Passion I suppose? Or once per day in general?) if we 'do' want to indulge in our Passions?

Thanks!
Takes a time slot to indulge in a passion.

Only chance will be during the LA break for supper before the finals

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 3:08 pm
by Ikoma Aya
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 2:51 pm

Takes a time slot to indulge in a passion.

Only chance will be during the LA break for supper before the finals
Quick follow-up question I think I'd asked on Discord before, but whose answer may be worth being here at any rate!

The duels are counted as scenes thought, right? Meaning we recover Fatigue and Strife to half-full after each duel?

Re: Iaijutsu Duel Questions

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 3:13 pm
by Ender
Ikoma Aya wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 3:08 pm
Ender wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 2:51 pm

Takes a time slot to indulge in a passion.

Only chance will be during the LA break for supper before the finals
Quick follow-up question I think I'd asked on Discord before, but whose answer may be worth being here at any rate!

The duels are counted as scenes thought, right? Meaning we recover Fatigue and Strife to half-full after each duel?
Correct. If you are under half value, nothing resets